Gavin Dowd has worked for FM104, Dublin’s most listened-to music radio station, since 2015. He has also worked for East Coast FM, the local radio station for County Wicklow. He has been twice nominated for IMRO Radio Awards – in 2016 for ‘Best Newcomer’ and in 2018 for ‘Best Irish Music Programme’.


Since the age of 16, Gavin has been presenting on Dublin’s FM104. He is currently the presenter of the Saturday Breakfast Show, airing weekly from 6 – 9am and is also the main cover presenter for all music shows on the station. Over the past number of years he has presented the following shows:

Saturday Breakfast ShowJanuary 2020 – PresentA personality-based music show airing Saturday mornings
from 6 – 9am.
The Open MicAugust 2017 – November 2018A 3 hour late night talk and music show aimed at students. IMRO-nominated
for ‘Best Irish Music Programme’ (2018). Gavin interviewed a number
of Irish bands including Kodaline, The Riptide Movement, Le Galaxie
and Wyvern Lingo. He organised an in-person session with
X-Factor contestants Sean and Conor Price for a group of
lucky listeners. The show also focused on talking points related
to students in Dublin. Notable discussions on the show included
coverage of the DCU Accounting and Finance Society hazing controversy in
2018 and the Trinity College student exam repeat fees protests in 2018.
The TakeoverAugust 2015 – September 2016A leading Saturday night request show. Gavin was instrumental
in increasing engagement with FM104’s Snapchat account, which
had been recently established. PPI-nominated for ‘Best Newcomer’ award (2016).


Gavin currently presents Saturday Afternoons on East Coast FM. He has held the following roles at the station:

Weekend AfternoonsFebruary 2019 – PresentPresenter of Saturday & Sunday afternoons, 2 – 6pm.
East Coast NightsOctober 2019 – February 2020Temporary presenter of weeknight evening show.
Wicklow this WeekFebruary 2019 – June 2020Researcher / technical support for weekly local talk show.
Produced Jillian Godsil’s IMRO Award-nominated entry for
‘Best Newcomer’ (2019).